Regular Meeting

April 18, 2017

Meeting called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Village President Dennis Manthei. Trustees present: Brown, Hennessey, Lautz, Leicht, and Wee. Excused: Trustee Schumacher. Also present: Public Works Director Scott Halbrucker, Police Chief Charles Ashbeck, Recreation Director Michelle Czerwan, and Village Administrator Teresa Schnitzler.

Minutes

Motion by Trustee Lautz, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to approve the minutes of the April 4, 2017, Regular Board meeting as written. Roll call vote: Leicht – present; remainder of Board - aye. Motion approved.

Claims

Claims from the following funds were presented for payment:

General Fund: \$57,611.13

Water Utility: \$219,712.14

<u>Sewer Utility</u>: \$348,926.85

Storm Water Utility: \$1,846.78

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to approve the payment of all claims as listed. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye.

Special Event Application

A Special Event Application was submitted by Carla Burkhardt on behalf of Our Saviors Lutheran Church and June Dairy Days to conduct a 5K fun run on Saturday, June 3, 2017, from 7:55 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. utilizing various Village streets.

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Wee to approve the issuance of a Special Event Permit for the June Dairy Days 5K fun run as presented. Roll call vote: Brown – abstain; remainder of Board - aye.

2017-2018 Committee Appointments

President Manthei presented and recommended the 2017-2018 Committee and Commission appointments as follows:

FINANCE AND PERSONNEL
James Leicht, Chairperson
Scott Schumacher
John Lautz

LAW ENFORCEMENT
John Lautz, Chairperson

UTILITIES COMMITTEE
Scott Schumacher, Chairperson
Leroy Brown
Dan Wee

STREETS

Leroy Brown, Chairperson

Kevin Hennessey James Leicht James Leicht Scott Schumacher

BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS

Kevin Hennessey, Chairperson John Lautz

Dan Wee

LIBRARY COMMITTEE
Dan Wee, Chairperson
Leroy Brown

Kevin Hennessey

THE ABOVE COMMITTEES ARE ONE (1) YEAR TERMS. ALL EXPIRE APRIL 16, 2018.

PLANNING COMMISSION

Dennis Manthei, Chairperson

1st of 2 year term, expires April 15, 2019

Scott Schumacher

2nd of 3 year term, expires April 15, 2019

James Morzinski

3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018

Walter F. Baltz III

2nd of 3 year term, expires April 15, 2019

Lill Twining

3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018

John Johnson

1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020

Joseph Burke

1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020

RECREATION COMMITTEE (3 citizens with 3 year staggered terms)

(2 trustees with terms coinciding with official terms of office)

Jennifer Stenberg, 541 Lewis Street – (608) 393-9071

3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018

Michael Glassmaker, 513 Lark Lane – 786-0015

1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020

Steve Kastenschmidt, 737 East Avenue – 786-1219

2nd of 3 year term, expires April 15, 2019

Scott Schumacher, Trustee, 442 West Franklin Street - 792-9852

2nd of 2 year term, expires April 16, 2018

Kevin Hennessey, Trustee, 845 Winchester Street – 387-9430

1st of 2 year term, expires April 15, 2019

(Chairperson to be elected by Committee at first meeting for 1 year term)

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Sharon Fuller, 420 North Tilson Street – 786-0886

1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020

Dave Evenson, 760 Lewis Street – 786-3375

2nd of 2 year term, expires April 16, 2018

John Lautz, 420 East Tilson Street, 786-1340

2nd of 2 year term, expires April 15, 2018

Helen Harold, 519 North Youlon Street - 786-0856

3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018

Kevin Hennessey, Trustee, 845 Winchester Street – 387-9430 1 year term – expires April 16, 2018 Dan Wee, Trustee, 431 North Youlon Street – 780-4627 1 year term – expires April 16, 2018

BOARD OF APPEALS

Carl Wallace, Chairperson, 740 East Avenue – 786-0714
3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018
Joe Hesselberg, 520 Lakewood Street - 786-0967
3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018
Ray Walter, 528 North Youlon Street - 786-0496
1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020
Keith Schmig, 238 West Avenue North – 786-1743
2nd of 3 year term, expires April 15, 2019
John Diekroeger, 450 North Youlon Street - 786-0847
1st of 3 year term, expires April 20, 2020

LAW ENFORCEMENT DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE

Ellen Thorn, 3885 Western Hills Drive, West Salem – 786-3557 2nd of 3 year term, expires April 15, 2019

John Schmidt, 322 West Garland Street– 786-0741 1st of 2 year term, expires April 15, 2019

Mark Johnson, P. O. Box 892, West Salem – 786-0296 3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018

FAIR HOUSING COMMITTEE (All 5 year terms)

Orin Nyseth, 521 West Garland Street - 786-1268
Dave Geske, 341 West Garland Street - 786-4759
James Leicht, Trustee, 520 North Tilson Street - 786-0513
John Wittenberg, 910 Brickl Road - 786-2996
Barbara Manthei, 527 West Garland Street - 786-1700

LAKE DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVE

Dennis Manthei, 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018

SENIOR CITIZEN REPRESENTATIVE

Miriam Wuensch, 134 West Hamlin Street – 385-9832 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018

LA CROSSE AREA PLANNING COMMISSION

Dennis Manthei, 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018 Scott Schumacher, 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018

TRANSPORTATION COORDINATING COMMITTEE

Dennis Manthei, 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018 Leroy Brown, 1 year term, expires April 16, 2018

BOARD OF REVIEW

Dennis Manthei, 527 West Garland Street, - 786-1700

Tony Kiel, 117 Torreyview Drive, Sparta, WI 54656 – 269-4197 Teresa Schnitzler, W2820 Shorewood Court – 792-5186 Ray Ebert, W3763 Hidden River Road - 786-1046

BOARD OF REVIEW ALTERNATES

Lill Twining, 310 North Leonard Street – 786-1651 Fran Noffke, 441 North Leonard Street – 786-0527

FIRE DISTRICT BOARD

David Tauscher – 3rd of 3 year term, expires April 16, 2018 James Koelbl – 1st of 2 year term, expires April 15, 2019

COULEE REGION JOINT MUNICIPAL COURT COMMITTEE

Teresa Schnitzler, 175 South Leonard Street - 786-1858 Charles Ashbeck, Alternate, 175 South Leonard Street - 786-0407

ONALASKA UTILITY COMMISSION

Leroy Brown, P. O. Box 33 – 498-1176

WEST SALEM AREA ROOM TAX COMMISSION

Chase Campbell, Chairperson, Americinn, 125 Buol Road – 786-3340
Patsy Hofer, 171 South Oak Street – 786-0750
Nick Miller, LeCoulee Cheese Castle, 112 South Leonard Street – 786-2811
James Leicht, 520 North Tilson Street – 786-0513
Errol Kindschy, 99 Jefferson Street – 786-1675

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Brown to approve the 2017-2018 Committee Appointments as presented. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye.

Official Bank Depository

Motion by Trustee Lautz, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to designate the Union State Bank of West Salem as the Village official bank depository. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye.

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Lautz to adjourn the meeting at 7:17 p.m. Approved by voice vote.

Teresa L. Schnitzler, Village Administrator