Regular Meeting

July 16, 2019

Meeting called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Village President Dennis Manthei. Trustees present: Brown, Hennessey, Lautz, Leicht, Schumacher, and Wee. Also present: Public Works Director Loren Schwier, Police Chief Charles Ashbeck, Recreation Director Tony DeGaetano, LADCO Executive Director Jorge Beltran, and Village Administrator Teresa Schnitzler.

Public Comment

Trustee Brown reminded the Village Board that July 19, 2019, marks fifty years since Astronauts Neil Armstrong, Edwin Aldrin, and Michael Collins in Apollo 11 entered into lunar orbit of the moon. On July 20, 1969, Astronauts Armstrong and Edwin Aldrin became the first humans ever to land on the moon. Astronaut Armstrong became the first person to walk on the moon, and as he took his first step, Armstrong famously said, "That's one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind."

Minutes

Motion by Trustee Lautz, seconded by Trustee Wee to approve the minutes of the July 2, 2019, Regular Board meeting as presented. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye.

<u>Claims</u>

Claims from the following funds were presented for payment:

<u>General Fund</u> :	\$177,044.71
<u>Water Utility</u> :	\$14,462.60
<u>Sewer Utility</u> :	\$48,226.66
Storm Water Utility:	\$173,454.00

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Schumacher to approve the payment of all claims as listed. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye.

Ordinance No. 489

Motion by Trustee Lautz, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to approve adoption of Ordinance No. 489 Update of Section 6.15 School Crossing Guards as presented. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye. Motion approved.

Ordinance No. 490

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to approve adoption of Ordinance No. 490 Repeal of Parking Code Section, which will eliminate the five-minute parking space in front of 174 South Leonard Street. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye. Motion approved.

Law Enforcement Facility Ad Hoc Committee

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Brown to approve the following members to the Law Enforcement Facility Ad Hoc Committee as recommended by Village President Dennis Manthei: Diana Engel, Barbara Manthei, Mark Johnson, Village Board Trustee John Lautz, and Village Board Trustee Scott Schumacher. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye. Motion approved.

Alcohol Beverage License Applications

Motion by Trustee Schumacher, seconded by Trustee Hennessey to approve the issuance of Alcohol Beverage Licenses to Taylor M. Hoag, Austin M. Johnson, Michael A. Knapik, Heather A. Lichthardt, and Tonya J. Whitewater. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye. Motion approved.

Law Enforcement Disciplinary Committee

The Law Enforcement Disciplinary Committee met on July 10, 2019. The purpose of the meeting was to conduct the annual meeting as provided in West Salem Code of Ordinances Section 1.29 to elect a Chairperson. Chair Mark Johnson noted the Committee has not met in a year, and this fact speaks highly of the West Salem Police Chief, the Police Lieutenant, and the Department. Mr. Johnson informed the Committee he will be out of the State from December through April 2020. He is reachable by phone, if needed. Committee member John Schmidt was elected chair.

Motion by Trustee Leicht, seconded by Trustee Schumacher to approve the minutes of the July 10, 2019, Law Enforcement Disciplinary Committee. Roll call vote: Unanimous aye. Motion approved.

Motion by Trustee Wee, seconded by Trustee Schumacher to adjourn the meeting at 7:24 p.m. Approved by voice vote.

Teresa L. Schnitzler, Village Administrator